sunday funday

Despite my best efforts in college, I am still something of an overachiever.  I have a problem saying no to people I love, and a dreadful tendency to burn the candle at both ends, and maybe in the middle a little as well.  A spate of weddings, a visit from my mom, and a heavy workload at my 9-5 (or 7-7 as the case may be) left me exhausted, definitely unwilling, and possibly unable to do anything this weekend.

Wait, I don’t mean that.  I mean…I didn’t want to have any obligatons.  No parties to attend, no dates for drinks (but not with you.  I always want to hang out with you), no family members needing help tiling, no nothing.  I am too much of a busybody to ACTUALLY do nothing.

So I got a pedicure.  I watched crappy TV.  I bought muffin rings and work clothes.  I spent Saturday evening with a horrible headache (bad) on the couch, watching Law and Order: SVU (not bad, also, you’ll notice I did not lump SVU in with “crappy tv” because it is the.best.show.ever.)  I woke up blessedly hangover-free and shockingly cheery at 6:45 Sunday morning.  I read Martha Stewart Living and called my mom lazed in bed until almost 8, and then commenced a bout of errand running that puts every last one of you to shame.  I visited Whole Foods (twice), the hardware store, my favorite coffee shop, the farmers market, Target, Giant, Yes! and Home Rule and spent a lot of time trying to find pickling salt.  And I still arrived home in just enough time to see Cam Newton throw his first interception…in the first 15 seconds of the Panthers game.

All of this is to say that I had grand plans for Sunday afternoon.  Soups to make and pears to pickle and tomatoes to can.  And I did none of it.  Not a single thing.  I sat on the couch with some of my favorite women in the world and yelled at the football and drank a lot of mimosas and ate too many nachos.  And you know what?  I don’t regret it at all.

Of course, this meant I had to rectify the situation on Monday.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

