on tartines

arugula, mozz and turkey "tartine"

tartine with turkey, arugula, and mozzarella

Oh, the tartine.

What’s that?  You don’t know what a tartine is?  Well!

A tartine is french for I can’t be bothered to write an actual blog post, so I’m going to toss some stuff on bread and come up with a fancy name for it an open faced sandwich.

The internet abounds with recipes for tartines.  Let me make it simple for you.  Step 1: Get good bread.  Step 2: Slice in half. Step 3: Put (a) good thing(s) on bread.  Step 4: Eat.    Tartines, my darlings, are not complicated things.  Traditionally, they are quite literally bread and something on it.

Which brings us to the present.  We don’t need recipes for tartines.  I promise we don’t.  So please internet, stop.  I get it.  You can talk all about the pleasure of superlative ingredients, simply combined.  I can get behind that.  But let’s not pretend, mkay?

As for me, I put a lid on my tartine and ate a sandwich for dinner, like a good American.

Leave a Reply

