40 in 40

Growing up in the Episcopal church, Lent was always a time not only to give something up,but to take something on.  I’m still not sure how religious I am, but I do keep with a lot of those Episcopal traditions, because I like them and they remind me of my childhood.

To that end, I like to think of Lent as less of a religious holiday, but more as sort of a redo of my new year’s resolutions.  I have a deep sense of disappointment whenever I fail in my Lenten resolutions, despite usually blowing the new year’s resolutions to smithereens by January 12th.  And, as I’m sure many of you have noticed, if you do something consistently for 40 days, it’s pretty easy for it to become a habit.

So I’ve decided to make two big resolutions.  First of all, I will be posting here, once a day, Monday through Friday.  I miss blogging, I miss the 10 of you that read this blog, and I miss writing.  With any luck, the habit will stick.  Secondly, I am flexing my cooking muscles and making 40 different dishes in 40 days.  My day job has gone from batshit insane to moderately insane, so most of my cooking will happen on the weekends and the recipes will be spread out during the week.  But, like my crazy idea to do 12 days of cookies, I hope it’ll make me a better cook.

 

Into the breach…

Leave a Reply

