sophomore slump

I have a confession.  I don’t much like fruit based desserts.  If I’m going to be sucking down sugar, I don’t want any fruit involved.  Give me chocolate, give me ice cream, give me things that did not come from a tree.  Except pecans.  In pie.  With bourbon.  And maybe Key limes.

But I digress.  We are in the throes of peach season, including my personal favorite- white peaches.  I like things that are not the color they’re supposed to be (or at least the way they were in my kindergarten books)- golden raspberries, blue potatoesred okra, yellow tomatoes….

Back to the cobbler.  Well, slump really.  Not a buckle.  Or a crisp, or a grunt.  A slump.  What’s the difference?

I’m not sure myself.  I think it depends on what your grandmother tells you, because grandmothers are experts in such things.  According to mine, a cobbler is a biscuit-like topping, a slump is a little more cakey, a buckle is essentially fruit in cake, and a crisp is like a cobbler, but crunchier.

As for the recipe, I started out with this one, by Ellie at Vintage Victuals, and went from there.  Many thanks to Brock for the bourbon and vanilla suggestions (and for confirming my cardamom obsession).  Cobbler it was not, but those peaches!  Can’t go wrong with that.

Peach Slump, adapted from Vintage Victuals

6-8 medium sized white peaches, peeled, pitted, and thinly sliced
1/2 cup sugar + 3/4 cup sugar
bourbon (up to 1/4 cup, depending on how juicy the peaches are)
1 vanilla bean
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
zest from one lemon (I used a normal one, but I bet a meyer lemon would be divine)

1 stick unsalted butter

3/4 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of kosher salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine the peaches with a hefty splash of bourbon (I used Jim Beam, a little less than a 1/4 cup).  Split the vanilla bean and scrape out the seeds, add to the peaches along with the cardamom. Sprinkle 1/2 cup of sugar over the top, add the lemon zest, give ’em a quick stir and set aside.  (Stick the vanilla bean in some sugar and make your own vanilla sugar)

Heat the oven to 350.  While it is heating, place the stick of butter in a 9×13 pan and let it melt.  While it’s melting, mix remaining ingredients.  Once the butter has melted, take the pan out of the oven, and pour the batter in.  Do.  Not.  Spread.  Dump the peach mixture on top, and gently spread it towards the edges.

Bake until golden brown and puffy, about 40 minutes.

One thought on “sophomore slump

Leave a Reply

