cottage pie

I love kitchen supplies. measuring spoons, Sifters, Peelers, spice racks, you name it. I like to scour flea markets, TJ Maxx and Marshalls, my grandmother’s cluttered pantry/laundry room. On a recent trip to Marshall’s, I found a cute little Le Creuset baking dish- perfect for small portions of lasagna, mac and cheese, whatever.

So, after reading this recipe for cottage pie on Serious Eats, it was all I could think about. It brought back memories of terrible frozen shepard’s pies I used to eat at Sainsbury’s when I lived in Edinburgh. And it would perfect for my new dish!

Naturally, however, I couldn’t leave the recipe alone. I won’t repost the recipe here, since I’ve already linked to it. But I altered it a bit to suit my tastes, and to make it fit for two, or one with leftovers.

Note: I bought the beef and most of the produce at Whole Foods, along with a bottle of wine for exactly $14.01. The things I already had at home are in italics. The leftover vegetables I tossed in with a can of black beans and made soup. The rest of the beef I used for Alton Brown’s meatballs.

Modified Cottage Pie

4 medium red potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed

1/3 lb ground beef

1/2 zuchinni, peeled and chopped

1/2 large carrot (scrubbed or peeled), chopped

1 large shallot, chopped

1-2 large cloves of garlic, chopped

1 tbsp herbs de provence

1 tbsp of flour

Red wine (glass)

In a bit of olive oil, sweat the garlic, shallots and carrot until the carrot is tender. Add the beef, zucchini, and herbs de provence and cook until browned. Sprinkle with a tablespoon of flour, and add a glass of red wine. Cook until a gravy has formed and place in the bottom of an oven proof dish (something roughly 8×8 or smaller) Spread mashed potatoes evenly on top and bake in the oven at 400 until hot and bubbling.

Leave a Reply

