The cookies of Jericho

I have a deep, dark secret.

I used to love professional “wrestling”.

Y2J, Randy Orton, the Undertaker, Kurt Angle, The Rock. Loved them all. Monday Night Smackdown. Wednesday Night Raw. Whatever the Sunday show was called. 5+ hours a week plus 3 hours a month of pay-per-view specials. Lou introduced me to it. We would rush home from lacrosse practice in high school to plop on my couch for hours of high flying action men in tight pants. To this day it baffles my mother.

This love of wrestling led to one of the best gifts I have ever received (from Lou of course): the WWF cookbook.

There is only one recipie I have ever made out of this cookbook, and it is truly amazing: Jericho-doodles.

These of course, are snickerdoodles, but with a picture of Y2J Chris Jericho on on of the pages. The are easy, even for an idiot baker like myself. I think I’ll make some tonight…I’m sure they go well with black bean soup. Maybe I’ll even take some recommendations from PinchMySalt and play with the spices a little. Recipe below.

JerichoDoodles (makes about 5-6 dozen)

3 3/4 cups flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
1 cup (2 sticks) of butter
2 cups plus 3 T sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 375. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
In a bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, salt, and cream of tartar. In separate bowl, cream butter and 2 cups of sugar. Add eggs, milk, and vanilla to the butter and sugar mixture and combine well. Add in stages to the dry ingredients, stirring after each addition. Mix remaining sugar and cinnamon. Shape the dough into one-inch balls and roll in cinnamon sugar to coat. Place on baking sheet and flatten slightly with a spoon. Bake for 7-10 minutes or until barely golden around the edges. Move to cooling rack immediately.

Leave a Reply

