Taylor Gourmet

Yesterday was not a good day.  Severe, dehabilitating, mind-numbing back pain for no apparent reason, showing up at a doctor’s appointment to learn that my doctor is retired, and the other doctor I’ve seen in the practice is moving to California in 2 weeks,  $190 for two shots (thank you China!) that were free 3 months ago- it all made me just a wee bit grumpy.

So, I decided to order in for dinner, from Taylor Gourmet (menu available here). 

First problem: do they deliver to the Columbia Heights/ U Street area?

Yes!

Second problem: They will not deliver one sandwich all the way across town.  Crap.My roommates are all gone, local friends are all elsewhere…  so I thoughtfully decided I would purchase dinner for myself and my SO. 

Third problem: SO is a pickier eater than my six-year-old cousin.  Thankfully, after some wrangling (No cheese.  No roasted red peppers.  I don’t like sun dried tomatoes, etc, etc), we decided on the Vine Street Expressway (breaded chicken cutlet, prosciutto, pesto, provolone) and arancini for me and the Race Street (roasted turkey, pesto, prosciutto, mozzarella) for him.

Final verdict?  The arancini made the trek okay and the marinara with them was great, if ever so slightly undersalted.  As for the sandwiches, I don’t think it’s a good idea to have a sandwich delivered all the way from 11th and H NE to my house off 14th street.   It was tasty, but not great.  Also, I think because I asked for no cheese on SO’s sandwich, there was none on mine as well.  He thought there was “too much bread, not enough sandwich.”  I ordered a 12-inch however, and am going to pop the leftover half in the toaster oven for lunch and see if it improves.

Also- vote for endlesssimmer’s Eater of the  Year.  And by that I mean you had better vote for Julia.  Tofu does not deserve any sort of food-based award.

Leave a Reply

