things I would like for Christmas

I know why some people are so hard to shop for for Christmas/Festivus/whatever.  I don’t know about you, but I feel bad asking for anything even remotely expensive.  So, I usually end up with a bunch of giftcards and the like, which ruins the surprise of Christmas, but also means I don’t have to spend December 26th returning a lot of ugly crap.   With that in mind, here is my Christmas list:

1. Think Like a Chef, by Tom Colicchio: Because I am a Top Chef nerd, and have a teensy crush on Tom.  Also, either Bacardi and the Long Fight for Cuba, by Tom Gjelten or Bananas!: How the United Fruit Company Shaped the World, by Peter Chapman.

2. A gift certificate from Artisanal Cheese.

3. A new 13-inch 2GHz Macbook.  It’s a Macbook!  It’s environmentally friendly!

4. A case of Del Monte No Salt French Style Green Beans.  One of my favorite things in the world to do is eat these with a fork, straight out of the can, standing over the sink.  I can’t explain it, but it’s delicious.

5. Kerastase shampoo and conditioner.  I cannot justify paying more than $20 (combined) on shampoo and conditioner.  And frankly, I have a hard time justifying that.

6. A bottle or two of this.

7. New bag.  Mine is a bit too well loved falling apart. It’s only a matter of time before the bottom completely falls out, the lining has completely torn away and my pocket is broken.  I have a hard time giving it up though-  it was a birthday gift my senior year of college from my friends/fake sorority members (don’t ask), and I’ve stuffed my entire life in it since then.

8.  A pizza stone

9. Santa has still not seen fit to bring me a 5-quart Kitchenaid stand mixer, so until he does, I will continue doing slice and bake cookies.  (Santa- I would prefer clementine or lemongrass, but if you’d like to use my Costco card and go for Empire Red, I’m okay with that.)

10. Gift certificate to Kramers (preferably) or Amazon/Borders/Barnes and Noble so I can buy my first book club book.

Leave a Reply

