scones

I woke up at 6 this morning. There is nothing to do at 6:00am Saturday morning. So, I called the only person I know who is awake that early- my mother. Fast forward five and a half hours, and I have talked to my mom, my aunt, my uncle, and my stylist from home (who is a family friend). Thanksgiving is a BIG deal for my family, and now my mom and I have it completely planned out- sides, grocery lists, the whole deal. In case you were wondering, our menu:

Turkey (duh) and apple stuffed pork roast

Wild Rice with Squash and Leeks, Grandmother’s sweet potatoes (she likes them COVERED in marshmellows, and no one else will eat them), Roasted Root Vegetables, Italian Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash, Cider Braised Collards, Mustard Greens, three kinds of stuffing (we have anti giblet and anti pork eaters in my family. macaroni and cheese, rice chantilly

Pumpkin Pie, Apple Cake, and Pumpkin Cheesecake with Marshmellow Sour Cream topping

Cranberry Mulled Wine

Anyway, my point is that I finally got out of bed at 11:30, feeling more than a little “eat-ish”, as my grandmother says. I realized that I had thrown out my turkey bacon, and my roommate had run out of the fixings for pumpkin oatmeal. Sad. Also, it is absolutely freezing out, so I had no desire to shower or leave the relative warmth of my house. So I scanned the kitchen and hoped for the best…

Gingerbread Scones!

My aunt loves these, and they’re super easy to make. You can alter the recipe by adding crystallized ginger, more or less of the spices (I like to add cloves and nutmeg), whatever you want. All of the ingredients are things I try ro keep on hand. They come together in under 20 minutes, bake for 12-15 (while you’re washing the dishes) and are absolutely delicious. They freeze well too- just ask my aunt

Leave a Reply

