lunch chronicles: smartkafe

I’m usually pretty bad about eating breakfast.

Scratch that. I rarely, if ever, eat breakfast. And when I do, it usually consists of doughnuts. Combined with my occasional propensity to drink through dinner, that makes lunch is the most important meal of the day.

Today, I scarfed some Smith Meadows Farm basil-garlic pasta and went to the gym to “work out.” By “work out,” I mean “run on the elliptical so I can watch college basketball.” I spent an hour on the damn thing, catching ‘Nova’s 10-0 run against Georgetown at the beginning of the second half, and then left, apparently right as Georgetown started to pull away.

Anyways, I was what my grandmother calls “eat-ish” when I left- hungry, but not starving. I decided to give smartkafe (recently profiled in the Washington Post) a shot, especially since the downtown location is pretty much IN the basement of my gym (which is apparently also the official gym of DC United.)

After about 15 minutes contemplating the choices (boy, are there EVER choices) I settled on a “Brazillian style chopped salad” with beef tenderloin and lavender soda.
At this point, a small part of me died. Really- Brazilian chopped salad and lavender soda? Remember the days of PB&J and a juice box? What’s happened to me?

Anyways, it was…interesting. The salad was comprised of the aforementioned beef tenderloin, hearts of palm, baby corn, carrots, red onion, peanuts, and a cilantro-citrus vinagrette. The soda was nothing more than (purified) carbonated water, (cane) sugar, and “natural extracts”
The salad itself was a little weird. The beef was decent, although overcooked, but the rest of the salad had too many things going on. The vinaigrette wasn’t tart enough, and the onions were a little too overpowering. I’m not sure I’d go this route again.

Plus, the whole deal set me back $7.19- ($4.49 for the salad, $2.25 for the soda) Is it sad that I feel like lunch for under $10 is an accomplishment? Nevermind that I paid $2 for a soda…

One thought on “lunch chronicles: smartkafe

  1. Not so sure if I would have tried the salad, maybe… Definitely would have given the lavender soda a shot. I am disappointed that it didn’t turn out well for you. But thanks for taking the plunge, now I don’t have to spend the $2! Auntie

Leave a Reply

