the wedding, part one

This weekend was my reunion tour. I got to see a lot of people I adore and haven’t seen in quite some time. More on that later.

While I have a minute, I thought I’d rehash the wedding, and my disturbing-and-as-yet-unresolved-incident with the Metro North Lost and found.

So after a whirlwind of a Christmas (highlights: eating a tub of flavored popcorn and drinking a bottle of wine with my aunt and uncle, while we played their daughters’ Shrek game on Xbox), I found myself frantically shopping for a dress to wear to the wedding. After much disappointment and driving, my mom and I found a lovely purple number at Lord and Taylor in Annapolis. It was way more than I wanted to pay, but whatever. Done and done. I went home, got up the next day, and hopped on wth DC2NY bus up to New York.

The bus drops at Penn Station, and from there I navigated the subway (hence my new appreciation for the Metro) to Grand Central and hopped on the Metro North train to Tarrytown. (I should interject at this point- this was December 29th. Since December 21st, I had not had more than about 5 hours of sleep a night. So I was positively loopy at this point. This will be important later on.) I had three bags with me- one with clothes (including the new dress and some clothes I got for Christmas and was planning on wearing to the rehearsal dinner), one with toiletries (and sweatpants) and my purse. The Metro North train gives you approximately 2.3 seconds to get up from your seat, collect your things, and get off the train. I did so, and breathed a sigh of relief that I had made it this far.

Only I left the bag with all my clothes on the train. The one with my brand-new-ugh-I-spent-that-much-for-a-dress-to-wear-to-John’s-wedding-dress. Oops.

Immediately panicking, I got in a cab headed to the hotel and called the Lost and Found, only to be told that unless I made it to Poughkeepsie before the train, I was pretty much screwed. I checked into my hotel, told Shmee what happened, and got in the shower. Shmee, to her credit, took over. She gave me a dress to borrow, ironed it, and yelled to the Metro North people until they agreed to have the MTA police search the train for the bag, and if it hadn’t been removed, they would put it in their office in Poughkeepsie, and we could go get it the next morning. Fine. The wedding was at 3:00pm the next day, which gave us more than enough time. So, we hopped back on the train, and headed to the rehearsal dinner- La Petite Auberge, on Lexington between 27th and 28th.

Wouldn’t you know it, the police didn’t find the bag. So let me recap. It is December 29th. I am in the ‘burbs of NYC, sans car, with no dress. With no clothes at all, minus what I have on. I have no way of buying a new dress, unless I were to head into the city, shop, then head back in time for the wedding. (My hangover from the post-rehearsal dinner festivities rendered this option moot.) Not a good situation.

It’s cool though. I MacGyver-ed that shit out.

Leave a Reply

